2017 Annual Work Report of Neuroimmunology and Neuroinflammation

Published on: 4 Feb 2018 Viewed: 1829

On January 25, 2018, Ruirui Zhang, Managing Editor of Neuroimmunology and Neuroinflammation (NN), presented an overall review about the development of the journal over 2017.

Adhering to the principle of "high-quality publishing" and strictly controlling the quality of articles, NN increased the rejection rate by 27.7% compared with 2016, and published 41 articles in 2017. The types of articles and distribution of the authors’ countries are tabled as below:


By December 2017, with the attraction of high-quality articles, the average amount of readings and downloads of articles had also been greatly improved, with the articles read 74,410 times in total. Among them, one paper entitled “Trends in neurology fellowship training”, by American authors Dr. Lukas et al., had been read more than 6,000 times; four articles had been read more than 3,000 times: “Role of neuroinflammation in ischemic stroke”, “Neuroimaging of corpus callosum in central nervous system demyelinating disorders”, “Meningeal carcinomatosis: a retrospective analysis of seventy-seven cases” and “The association between human cytomegalovirus and glioblastomas: a review”; the remaining 36 articles were read 2,000 times on average. While the journal with 56 articles published last year was read 69,858 times, there was an increase of the amount of readings in 2017, though fewer articles were published. The average downloads have also increased. The article, entitled "Treatment guidelines of chronic inflammatory demyelinating polyneuropathy in China", by Chinese authors Dr. Cui et al., was downloaded more than 450 times. Furthermore, statistics show that the country distribution of the readership of NN Journal expanded from 140 countries and regions in 2016 to 172 in 2017.

The continuous progress of NN Journal in 2017 has attracted more contributions by experts from all over the world and higher enthusiasm of neurology experts with greater academic influence in establishing special Issues. The overall establishment of Special Issues is to be carried out in 2018.

Additionally, NN Journal has expanded foreign cooperation and established close ties with 22 international conferences. On the “2017 International Summit Forum on Translational Neurology” held in Zhengzhou, Henan Province, China, we had the honor to invite Professor V. Wee. Yong, President (2014-2016) of the International Society for Neuroimmunology, to be the Honorary Editor-in-Chief of NN Journal.

Hereby, the editorial team would like to express our sincere gratitude for the hard work and continuous support provided by all Editors-in-Chief, Editorial Board members, reviewers, readers and authors of the journal over the past year! As some gratifying results have been achieved, a lot of aspects need to be improved in 2018. NN Journal would keep up all our efforts under the leadership of our Editors-in-Chief, Professor Gang Zhao, Professor Athanassios P. Kyritsis and Professor Thomas Müller as well as under the coordination by the Editorial Board members, reviewers and the editorial team in further developing our journal in the spirit of the rigorousness, science-based approach and impartiality.

Last but not the least, on behalf of the editorial team, we'd like to express our sincere gratitude to the following experts for their contributions to peer review and language editing in 2017:
George Alexiou, Patricia Bozzetto Ambrosi, Arellano-Galindo J, Georgina Arrambide, Konstantin E. Balashov, Staley A. Brod, Aswin Chari, Xing-Yong Chen, Chu Chen, Jiu Chen, Yan Chen, Forhad Hossain Chowdhury, Clifford D.B., Randall L. Davis, de Montmollin É, Du X., Xue-Wen Fan, Chaitali Ghosh, Hong-Zhi Guan, Stephen D. Ginsberg, Elena Grebenciucova, Yu-Zhou Guan, Hawryluk G.W.J., Chaur-Jong Hu, Li-Fang Hu, Nunzio Iraci, Chandrasekaran Kaliaperumal, Kamate M., Kearney H., Krestel H., LassmaNN H., Xiao-Yin Lai, Bin Li, Yan Li, Li-Ping Liu, Loon-Tzian Lo, Mantero V., Sofia Markoula, Marulli G., Ricky Medel, Salvadeeswaran Meenakshi-Sundaram, Nichole Mesnard-Hoaglin, Milani D., Nishant K. Mishra, Shekher Mohan, Murk J.L., Nicola Pavese, Fabrizio Piazza, Amutha Ramaswamy, Satoh K., Gerrit Schubert, Ji-Jun Shi, Winfried Stöcker, Michael J. Strong, Kyoungho Suk, Jia-Wei Wang, Yu-Zhou Wang, Ya-Zhou Wang, Warren S.G., Sara Xapelli, Zong-Qi Xia, Li Yang, Tae Y. Yune, Xing-Hu Zhang, Nathan T. Zwagerman.

Neuroimmunology and Neuroinflammation
ISSN 2349-6142 (Online) 2347-8659 (Print)


All published articles are preserved here permanently:


All published articles are preserved here permanently: