Warmest Congratulations to Prof. Xuanmei Fan for Being Selected for the Individual Award of the 19th Chinese Young Women in Science Fellowship

Published on: 29 Apr 2024 Viewed: 204

On April 28, 2024, the 19th Chinese Young Women in Science Fellowship Ceremony was held in Beijing, China, co-sponsored by the All-China Women's Federation, China Association for Science and Technology, the China National Commission for UNESCO, and L'Oréal China.

Professor Xuanmei Fan of Chengdu University of Technology, an Editorial Board Member in Disaster Prevention and Resilience (DPR), was honored with the Individual Award at this ceremony, and the DPR Editorial Office would like to express its heartfelt congratulations to Prof. Fan!

(Data source:

Profile of Prof. Xuanmei Fan

Prof. Xuanmei Fan, recipient of the National Outstanding Young Scientist Fund and the 2022 Scientific Exploration Award, holds several prestigious positions, including Director of the International Exchange and Cooperation Office (Hong Kong, Macao and Taiwan Affairs Office), Deputy Director of the State Key Laboratory of Geological Hazard Prevention and Control and Geological Environmental Protection, and a researcher. She has been working on the mechanism and prediction of strong earthquake geological disasters for a long time, has led or participated in more than ten national Natural Science funds, provincial and ministerial-level, and European Union research projects, including the National Distinguished Young Scientist Fund and the National Outstanding Young Scientist Fund.

Prof. Fan has published more than 140 academic papers in Nature, Reviews of Geophysics, Earth Science Reviews, Geophysical Research Letters, and other top international journals, including more than 90 SCI papers, ten ESI papers with more than 4800 citations, and she has been selected as one of the top 2% scientists in the world. The paper on the disaster-causing mechanism, evolution law and disaster chain effect of strong earthquake geological disasters was selected as the cover and highlight paper of the Current Issue by Reviews of Geophysics, a top journal in the field of geosciences, and reported as important research progress by the United Nations Disaster Prevention and Mitigation Agency (UNDRRA), National Natural Science Foundation of China (NNSFC), and Ministry of Emergency Management (MEMC) of the People's Republic of China (PRC).

Currently, she serves as a council member of the International Consortium on Landslides, Secretary General of the International Research Association on Large Landslides, council member of the International Quaternary Research Consortium, Executive Director of the Intelligent Monitoring of Geology and Geotechnical Engineering Branch of the Chinese Society of Rock Mechanics and Engineering, Vice Chairman of Landslide Mudslide Prevention and Control Specialized Committee of the Chinese Society of Soil and Water Conservation, and expert of Sichuan Provincial Emergency Response to Geological Disasters.

Introduction to the Chinese Young Women in Science Fellowship

Established in 2004, the China Young Women in Science Award is an extension of the UNESCO and L'Oréal World Prize for Outstanding Women in Science in China, which has grown from five to 20 women scientists per year over the past two decades and has become an important award for women in science and technology that connects to international recognition platforms.

In 2014, the Prize was first launched to recognize the "Future Women Scientists Program", which is dedicated to identifying and cultivating women scientists at the doctoral or post-doctoral research stage with strong scientific research ability and potential for development.

In 2022, the program expanded its candidate pool from five to ten to further support the development of scientific research reserves.

Editor: Yiying Song
Language Editor: Emma Chen
Production Editor: Yan Zhang
Respectfully Submitted by the Editorial Office of Disaster Prevention and Resilience

Disaster Prevention and Resilience
ISSN 2832-4056 (Online)
Follow Us


All published articles will be preserved here permanently:


All published articles will be preserved here permanently: